Go to content Go to the menu Go to the search

Quick access, personalized services
Observatoire océanologique de Banyuls sur mer
Laboratoire Arago

Affiliation organisms

University Pierre and Marie Curie (UPMC)

From its creation in 1882 by Professor Henri de Lacaze-Duthiers, then Chair of Experimental Zoology, University of the Sorbonne, the Arago Laboratory has always been attached to a Paris university, initially to the University of Paris and now to the University Pierre and Marie Curie, Paris VI.

With approximately 10,000 personnel and nearly 31 000 students, UPMC was the first French Medical School and Scientific Research University.

UPMC has a unique network of marine stations not available anywhere else in the world. The three marine stations/observatories located in Banyuls-sur-Mer, Roscoff and Villefranche-sur-Mer play a major role in the emergence of marine biology and support all disciplines marine science.

These stations focus on complementary and collaborative experimental activities coordinated within within the Centre for Marine Sciences (CSM), a federal organization whose  research objectives and interdisciplinary training foster and coordinate joint activities in this field.

This network pools its expertise in teaching and research with three laboratories on the Jussieu campus of UPMC in Paris :

    Systematics Laboratory Adaptation and Evolution (SAE)
    Laboratory Biology of organisms and ecosystems (BOREA)
    Laboratory LOCEAN of IPSL

The network includes more than 700 people and ensures  unique training opportunities in Europe in the marine sciences, ranging from systems biology to physical oceanography.

National center for scientific research (CNRS)

The National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) is a public research organization active in all fields of knowledge, under the Ministry of Higher Education and Research. Located throughout the country, the agency includes more than 1200 research units and supportive services over 32000 staff and has had a  budget of over $ 3 billion since 2009.

As the principe body of multidisciplinary research in France, CNRS conducts research in all fields of science, technology and society. It covers the entire range of scientific fields to include mathematics, physics, chemistry, life sciences, science and information technology and communications, nuclear physics and high energy, science planetary science and the universe, humanities and social sciences, environmental sciences and engineering. These disciplines are grouped into ten institutes.

The Oceanographic Observatory of Banyuls-sur-Mer is attached to three institutes within CNRS : the Institute Ecology and Environment (INEE), the Institute of Biological Sciences (INSB), and National Institute for Earth Sciences and Astronomy(INSU) .

National Institute for earth sciences and astronomy (INSU)

The National Institute for Earth Sciences and Astronomy (INSU) was created in 1985 with the mission to develop, promote and coordinate research of national and international scope in astronomy, earth sciences, the ocean and space. Additional programs are conducted in public schools under the National Education and CNRS.

Since 2002, INSU and all of the institutes of CNRS have recognized the need for interdisciplinary approaches to research environmental research.

The INSU ensures the support for :

  • research incentives in coordination with other agencies,
  • scientists who seek  to develop strategies for national and international programming and equipment infrastructure.

The INSU is a funding agency serving the scientific community with a mission to observe the natural environment by:

  • Supporting space research,
  • Science monitoring Observatories Science of the Universe (OSU) such as Oceanological Observatory of Banyuls / Mer


sophie sanchez (sophie.sanchez @ obs-banyuls.fr) - 06/06/16

Traductions :

Also in the section